top of page

Designing Cultures Studio is a design and research studio dedicated to exploring new ways to spark and distil insight and address people’s needs through bold, optimistic design, founded by Dr Jesvin Yeo in 2008. With a strong focus on design research and collaboration with multidisciplinary collaborators, Designing Cultures Studio has won over 70 international creative awards, including the prestigious Red Dot Award (Communication Design), GOOD DESIGN™ Award, Core77 Design Awards, AIGA 50 Books, and iF Communication Design Award. 


The creative work has been featured in several design magazines and books, such as Tokyo Type Directors Club (TDC) Design Annual Book, Applied Typography 22, Wallpaper*, How Magazine, Letterheads & Business Cards 2, Graphic Design 3, and The Design Journal. As well as exhibited at galleries and museums in Berlin, London, Washington D.C., Atlanta, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Taipei and Beijing.


The founder, Dr Jesvin Yeo, trained at Central Saint Martins College of Arts and Design in London and NAFA in Singapore, is a multidisciplinary designer, educator and researcher based in Singapore. Her research and design interests relate to the historical and contemporary cultural changes in the areas of “Asian Material Culture”, “Asian Studies”, and “Typography”. She investigates the intersection of cultural elements and motivation and experiments with communication through visuals and technology. As the foundation of her research, Jesvin employs design as a means for understanding, examining and critiquing the world around her. More specifically, she believes that design questions the social, cultural, historical, technological and formal norms that surround us daily.
In October 2021, the Designing Cultures Seed Fund was launched to encourage young designers to explore collaboration as a method to foster design interest and strengthen community bonds.






Dr Jesvin Yeo

Cheng Yu Hui

Quek Teng Wan

Alvin Ng

Victor Gui


Jason Fok Kow 

Chan Liying

Tan Peijing

Audrey Yang

Cheryl Tan

Lee Sin Lee

Dennis Koh

Charissa Ho
Wong Weiloong 


EDITING TEAM (Project Basis)

Ash Yeo

Rhoda Tan

Sky Liu 

Quek See Ling 



Hedren Sum, National University of Singapore

Dr Rajesh Piplani, Nanyang Technological University

Dr Caroline Chia, National University of Singapore

Dr Teo Chua Tee, National Institute of Education

Dr Laavanya Kathiravelu, Nanyang Technological University

Dr Sa'eda Bte Buang, National Institute of Education

Dr Yow Cheun Hoe, Nanyang Technological University

Liew Jie Ni, Superunion

Dr Elizabeth Pang, Ministry of Education


Ding Yi Music Company

Master Yeo Hung Teo

Master Goh Hak Sheng


bottom of page